SF08 // MOVEMENT IN THE CITY - Black Teardrops

1981 South African Soul-Funk-Jazz from the master tape vault of the As-Shams/The Sun label by the creator of the Black Disco albums. As underground jazz fermented in the social and political powder keg of early-80s South Africa, composer and bandleader Pops Mohamed retired the Black Disco moniker in favour of Movement in the City. The group's second offering under this new name yielded what has become one of the most sought-after releases from As-Shams by way of Black Teardrops, a singular blend of down-tempo and atmospheric South African rare groove featuring Dollar Brand saxophonist Basil "Manenberg" Coetzee and bass wizard Sipho Gumede. Reissued in an edition of 500 vinyl LP, putting the album back in print for the first time in 40 years.

Keyboards • Organ  Guitar - Pops Mohamed
Tenor Sax  Flute - Basil "Manenberg" Coetze
Alto Sax  Flute - Robbie Jansen
Bass - Sipho Gumede • Peter Odendaal
Drums - Roger Harry Monty Weber
Recorded at Satbel Studio & Gallo
Engineer: Phil Audoire
Produced by Rashid Vally
Original Release 1981 // Reissue 2020 // 500 Vinyl LP